Sharpe Books

I began writing Sharpe in 1980 and he’s still going strong. I never thought there would be this many books – I imagined there might be ten or eleven – but then along came Sean Bean and the television programmes and I virtually began a whole new Sharpe series.

Read more about Sharpe and the timeline of the books here.

Read more about the Sharpe films here.

Read about the Sharpe’s Children Foundation here.

Displaying book editions selected for your country.
If you would like to change country please use the selector on the right.


Sharpe’s Eagle (1981)

Regional Editions:
  • GB
  • US

The very first Sharpe book – and if you own an original hardback (of any of the first four or five books) with its dust jacket then take care of it – it’s valuable. I’ve never dared to re-read the book, but so far as I remember it tells the tale of the battle of Talavera and, of course, the plot concerns the need to capture a French ‘eagle’; the battle standard given by Napoleon to each of his fighting regiments.